The 5 Love Languages

the 5 love languagesGary Chapman published The 5 Love Languages in 1992. After five editions, ten million copies, and numerous companion books, Chapman has made a cottage industry out of the original manuscript.

Chapman asserts we experience and express love through five love languages, including:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

Most people speak a primary and secondary language.

Miscommunication occurs when couples assume they speak the same language. Learning and speaking your partner’s love language revitalizes relationships.

During premarital counseling, I present couples with a copy of The 5 Love Languages. The concepts provide crucial strategies for healthy relationships.

To paraphrase the Apostle Paul, “If I speak in the tongues of humans and angels, but do not speak my partner’s love language, then I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.”

Love others by speaking their love language.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s